Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

What should I have done?

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' started by whoguy, Jun 23, 2014.

1. Hi all,

Had a close one on friday. Was behind a ute which pulled into a RSL driveway. About 2-3m from the driveway a corolla parked parallel to the road pulls out suddenly to do a U-turn..... no signal no nothing... with me directly in it's path... I beeped swerved at the same time and just missed the corolla by a hair. I was about a car length behind the ute.

In hindsight.... what should I have done????

Here's the pic.

2. I'm no expert but id put more distance between me & ute & be on the lookout for telltale signs from the other vehicle is there someone in car is car running
  3. Do you think you were int he ute's shadow (blind spot)? Perhaps the corolla did not have an opportunity to see you. Ever consider thinking in the 4th dimension, the other person's perspective? That person has no idea about bikes. I agree with the previous post.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. You missed it, you did that right. Was there anything in hindsight that could have given you a clue to what he was about to do?
  5. Tend to agree with Jeffco.

Forget the horn, noone hears them in a modern car.
  6. Interesting what time was it? Could you have been lost in the ute' s lights/shadow? So the car doing the u turn saw the ute but then just saw a gap?

The text book answer says car turning into driveway with cars parked on the side of the road - roll off, cover , put yourself in a visible position etc

In real life , RSL on a Friday, trust no car anywhere near it. Bad combination, old blokes, beer and general poor driving.