Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

What should I Do?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Parko82, Mar 23, 2007.

1. G'day guys. I've just got a question on what bike to buy. I'm basically completely new to motorcycle riding.
    I went into a shop wanting a 600cc bike, talked to the owner and he suggested a 250 because of my lack of experience. I'd be happy enough on a 250 for a while but i'd wanna upgrade maybe 6 months down the track and the problem there is i cant afford it. Im buyin a bike soon and then that will be it.
    My experience isnt really an issue to me... i'd ride a 600 just as i'd ride a 250... Like a grandma until i slowly worked out exactly whats it's like to do anything (handling wise etc.) on the particular bike. Im cautious on the road and im certainly not silly.

Basically ive been told it'll be harder to resell a 250 than a larger bike and i should go at least a 600cc especially if i cant afford to resell my bike later and upgrade which is the case.

I just wondered what your opinions would be on this topic. Any welcome. :) Thanks!
  2. Where are you located...if in NSW you can buy a LAMS approved 600cc...in VIC you are stuck on a 250...although you can still learn plenty on a 250...I commuted everyday on mine for about 18 months and loved it! :)
  3. oh this will be a good one , :popcorn: :beer: :bolt:
  4. buy my bike. Ull look good on it
  5. Nah like i said above i had decided on 250 after what the shop owner told me but last couple days people hav told me it's harder to resell a 250 and in 6 months im gunna want an upgrade anyway.

Just need a little help in makin a decision. At the moment it's lookin like 250 will be way to go cuz i want new and can only afford 600 if it's second hand anyway.