Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

What scooter for a total newbie?

Discussion in 'Scooters' started by bbboy, Mar 8, 2007.

1. Hi all!

I have been reading up on scooters all afternoon and can safely say I've never known less! I've scoured these forums, and found them very useful, so thanks for your silent work there!

Basically, I'm after a little scooter. Initially, I was very romantic about it (aprilia, vespa etc etc), but I've come down to earth since ducking into a scooter shop and the SALESMAN telling me that I'd just be paying for the brand. In his experience, the asian made gizmos are just as reliable and powerful!

So now I've come down to earth, but I'm still wondering, what should I get? I was looking at 50cc, but have had advice from several people that that would be a dangerous move, so I've decided 125cc minimum now! I would have done Q-Ride anyway...

So now I'm thinking Bug/Kymco! There's a nice agility 125 which seems to review well. But then I noticed the TGB 101r 150 is the same price! But THEN I noticed a Vmoto 125cc (in the retro look I'm after) for only $2500, and I think that's drive away!

So what would you kind folk advise me? I'm 185cm, about 80-90kg (I fluctuate!), would be taking a passenger OCCASIONALLY, but only in slow zones. I would mostly use it to and from work (60 zone the whole way, busy, busy road though), but ocassionally duck northside (80 zones on bypass).

Advise me! PLEASE!

P.S. The BIG perk of this scooter is basement parking where I work rather than a 1.5k walk from the 'free' parking in between a brothel and a condemned house full of squatters... Not nice when you're finishing at 3am or something. Go scooters!