Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

What problems do drivers have with splitting?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Nakkas, Aug 31, 2007.

1. Just a spin off to the jealous cagers thread.

I've had so many people tell me they had bikes who "weave in and out" and that kind of a thing. It seems quite a few people have problems with bikes splitting.

Years before I started riding (even driving on my L's), I always made room for bikes to split. I've never had a problem with bikes splitting, although I still do curse riders when I'm stuck in traffic..

Now what problems would drivers have with people splitting. I know all the benefits and stuff of splitting. I'll make a brief list.

-not waiting in line like everybody else
    -they have damaged cars or mirrors in the past
    -makes it more difficult to change lanes
    -have to be more vigilant, in case you hit someone
    - a legit gripe is riders who just sit there with their arms folded once the lights are green. i'll always click into gear the lights before I need to go.

I absolutely hate seeing riders who take ages to click into gear and hold up the traffic behind them. The worst was when I saw 3 cars on each side pass a rider who kept sitting on his bike, in between the cars. After he split to the front.

I can't think of more.. Pretend it's a bike hating forum. Go nuts..

2. That's less to do with splitting/filtering, and more to do with the fact that some people are just complete idiots. By all means, hit neutral and sit up, but be ready for f'ks sake. Same with cagers who go to neutral and put the handbrake on, then drift the hell off and don't pay attention. :evil: