Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

What fuel do you put in your bike?

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' at netrider.net.au started by Genabee, Feb 17, 2013.

Tags:
  1. Please forgive my ignorance - I am new to this!

A good friend who is a motorbike enthusiast suggested we should always put premium/98 octane fuel in the motorbike and where possible, always purchased from BP as it is the best quality.

We have had reason this past week to be at the repair shop with the scooter for a fuel pump issue. The mechanic in there suggested to use 91 Octane and also suggested BP or Shell fuel is best to use. His reason was that the higher octane fuels are notorious for clogging up the fuel pumps of scooters and motorbikes alike.

Our internet searches on this don't really suggest strongly one way or another.

The girl in me tends to want to go with what the 'professional' mechanic says. But then I also have trust in my friend as he hasn't led us astray yet...

So, what fuel do you use and why?

We have a Honda CB400 if it makes any difference.

2. I'd be more worried about running E10 in a bike that's not designed for it.
    Ethanol will gradually dissolve the fuel lines and carb seals on older gear and end up causing enormous headaches. It's not a problem if you replace everything with stuff that's compatible, an engine and valves that run on unleaded won't be harmed by E10 (E65 could well burn valves though) but the natural rubber used in old lines, slide diaphragms, seals etc will perish and turn to jelly when exposed to ethanol for long enough. 96 octane premium is more than enough for most engines though, there's no need to use the dearest possible stuff.
    A new bike that's designed to use ethanol fuels won't be bothered of course.

3.  Top