Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

What exactly is the logic behind race gear vs commuter gear?

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' at netrider.net.au started by mogley, Feb 28, 2012.

1. Hi all,

I've been riding for only a few months now and have a pair of A* SMX-5 boots. I originally bought a pair of 'race' boots as I wanted the protection and figured my riding would largely be limited to spirited riding anyway.

It seems however that I do get out often enough for the proverbial commute and am looking for something a little more casual.

http://www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/alpinestars-fastlane-shoes
    http://www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/dainese-technical-sneaker

Those look the goods but obviously they are a massive drop in safety (the fastlanes look OK, the dainese is almost like a glorified pair of converses), presumably because the commute is less dangerous than racing?

But how so? Is it because you are just going slower? What if you commute and have to hop on a freeway?

I want something casual but not if its worthless and i can't do more than scooter speeds to be a 'commuter'.

Maybe i'll just carry a backpack with some shoes to change into.

Just trying to apply some logic to all of this, and distill a little fact from marketing fiction...

2. I wouldn't say commuting is less dangerous then racing. In fact the opposite is true. On the track you don't have cars, gutters, pedestrians and other moving and non moving objects to potentially hit.

3. That although if you're just going down the road for milk/paper etc. I just stay in the A*'s.

Mate, the SMX-5's are a great boot, offer proper protection and very comfortable for day to day use. I have owned a pair for 3 years now and they go on my feet every time I ride.