Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

What do you do with your helmet?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Alguien, Nov 20, 2005.

1. Hi all,

Im new to the road going bike scene and was just wondering what everyone does with their helmet when they go out. Do you all cart it around with you if you go to the shopping centre etc? I dont want to have to do that but Im also cautious about leaving an expensive piece of equipment strapped to the bike...

2. I never leave it on the bike.

3. 97% of the time i carry it with me on my arm (elbow) or just in my hand.
    2% of the time i put it on the helmet lock on my bike.
    1% of the time i go find somewhere to leave it safely and wander around after that.

I don't like the idea of leaving my helmet attached to my bike either.
  4. I've got one of those backpacks that Andystrapz sells, it has a pop out helmet bag and a couple of straps for a rolled up jacket.

I also carry one of his hemlet straps. It loops around the chin piece and you can sling the helmet over your shoulder, frees up your hands.
  5. My Shoei helmet came with a bag. I tend to place it in there to protect it and carry it with me.
  6. I've got a cheap HJC helmet so occasionally I lock it to the bike, but when at work it comes into the office with me.

I'll shortly be upgrading to a sportsbike and noticed alot of guys hook their helmet on the rear cowl, is there a special hook for that? How is it done?

When I get my iridium shoei helmet I can imagine it will not leave my sight as I occasionaly take my current helmet into the supermarket etc, its not a problem for short amounts of time.