Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

What Do We Do About Idiots?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Bravus, Aug 7, 2006.

1. It's been a bit of a subtheme of the board in the past week or so, from the 'other side of the windscreen' and 'riders cause...' threads as well as other places. I'm a bit of a n00b, so it may well be an on-going theme here as well, but I thought I'd raise the question.

Let me come at it from an angle. I'm a teacher, and in fact now I teach teachers. The majority of teachers are committed, excellent and professional. A small minority are slack, lazy, abusive and shouldn't be in the profession. But the union's job is to protect teachers, and the result is that it is sometimes seen to be protecting these bad teachers, and resisting the moves that would get rid of them. That seems to be against the interests of the majority of teachers, whose reputations are being damaged... I imagine it's the same for most/all unions.

So what do we do with dangerous, irresponsible riders? I've seen examples of both "throw the book at 'em" and defending responses here. I think that particularly because riders sometimes feel under siege already from the broader society the automatic response is to defend fellow riders. But in cases like the ones that got me thinking about this issue, I think that's unhelpful.