Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

What can be said other than SMIDSY?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by smileedude, Jun 19, 2012.

1. So on occasion I have to get in a cage. I am a very observant driver and I consider the chances of me hitting a rider are sweet f*** all. But what if I did, and it was a SMIDSY? What can I possibly say?

Obviously we are all going to be pretty upset if hit by a car that doesn't see us. Just wondering what you think is the least antagonistic thing they can possibly say to us in this situation to explain their actions. With all the options available, "sorry mate I didn't see you" doesn't seem too bad, it admits fault and is a pretty accurate description of what happened. Far better then "you were going too fast for me to see" or something like this.

Several riders here have stated how upset they've gotten when a driver has said SMIDSY, or words to that effect after an accident, but is there actually a better explanation they can give?

2. "Sorry, I didn't look" would be more accurate.
  3. Just quote the tac ad?
  4. what for ferfargin you kick my dog and call him f*ckoff ferfargin
    • Like Like x 1
  5. How about SMIFU.
  6. "If you think there is a chance of hitting someone, chances are you will" [-(