Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

What bike after CBR300??

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by hondaboy, Jan 28, 2015.

1. Hi all. New to the forum. Ive been riding for about 4 months on a CBR300R and I am loving it, Managed to do about 2500 kilometres in that time and I can really feel my skills as a rider improving every day (although still a long way to go). As with all learner riders I am looking at upgrading once I have been riding for a year or so. I just need some suggestions about what would be the ideal bike to upgrade to. I love the Supersport look and I am more than comfortable on these. Rode a CBR600RR the other day (in a parking lot) and was surprised how comfortable it was. Was thinking that a CBR600RR might be a good bike to upgrade to but really need some advice. I am worried that it may be a bit too much for me. Was even thinking of a CBR1000RR but these scare the shit out of me. What have other riders upgraded to and any advice you can give me would be appreciated.

2. I don't know you or your riding abilities, but I think the "don't upgrade too fast" thing gets overplayed a bit. You can always take it easy in the beginning and pretty soon your perspective and muscle memory adapt to the bigger bike's capabilities and responses.

It's up to you to make an honest assessment of where you are as a rider but I know plenty of people who've gone straight from 250's to litrebikes with no problems (and it's not just luck, they took their learning seriously and had the skills and maturity to make the jump - not everyone will).