Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Well it may be a midlife crisis but its mine.

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' at netrider.net.au started by matti-san, Jan 19, 2006.

1. Hi everyone, I am a total newbie to motorcycling, the closest I have ever come is riding a moped in a cyclone in Bermuda :squid: and hurtling down a hill at 60 kms on a mountain bike.

I know these types of questions get asked all the time but well you know :grin:

About to purchase a new bike and all the required gear, btw am limited to a 250cc as I am in Melbourne. The bike will be used for a daily commute from Mount Martha to Carrum about 20kms each way and the occasional weekend ride to the Gippsland Lakes [about 400kms each way].

So reliability and comfort are major factors.

I have read everything and investigated CBR250, VTR250, cruisers, nakeds, new, secondhand and of course what I have read on Netrider! The final list looks like this and I was after any comments that anyone may have.

Budget $7500 all up.
    Hyosung GT250 naked in black
    KBC VR1 helmet [it fitted best]
    Alpinestar GPS3 gortex boots
    AGV Sabre leather jacket [will get summer & winter jackets when funds come in]
    Alpinestar SP3 gloves
    Draggin cargoes

Any way your thoughts would be appreciated.

2. Welcome to the forum, matti.

Whatever you suggest, 15 people will give you 100 reasons why you shouldn't; it's a forum after all.

Enjoy anyway! :grin:

3. YEah sweet mate you've got it covered, have a ball!

4. For the bike i'd be leaning towards the VTR if its a comfortable and enjoyable ride your looking for..The other stuff your looking at getting will do you well too..Good quality products...

I'd take a look at the VTR champ.. :grin: