Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Wearing Transition glasses under helmets

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by intrasonic, Oct 16, 2010.

1. Hi guys, I'm a newbie but I've found so much great info and advice here. I've done a search but can't find a thorough answer. I'm aware that it's quite possible to wear prescription glasses under a suitable helmet.

My question: do transitions/photochromatic glasses work properly under helmet visors? Do normal helmet visors block the UV light that is needed to make transitions work?

Thanks in advance.

2. shrugs dont know about the glasses but I am working on the transition visor for my range of helmets
  3. I know the standard shoei visor will filter UV. I use a visor insert that works in a similar fashion to the transitions lenses and it doesn't go dark unless I leave the visor open.
  4. my photochromic polaroids don't like my shark visor. almost trippy with them on. try it and see is about the only option.
  5. Preferably without getting on a bike, of course :p.
  6. Ive got a set of photochromic glasses, and they are useless unless the light is directly hitting them.
    In my helmet with the visor up, they may tint maybe 5% - not even enough to notice, as they are in shadow, not direct light.

Really only useful for me if im riding home of an afternoon into the sun, and then they arent really dark enough and i put my regular sunnies on, plus the tinted visor.

The ones i have are:
    Model Number: FC02

edit: wrong model number
  7. I've got photochromic glasses and have no problem with my visor, but I've never actually checked whether they darken on a sunny day....maybe the fact that the visor is filtering UV means that you don't need the lenses to be so dark...dunno.