Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Washing the Beast

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by Wellsey84, Aug 14, 2006.

1. G'Day Guys,

Read your forum alot and I have a problem so I thought of you all.

Its a Honda VT250C. 2003 model, no Mods.

My question is, as I am fairly new to this, what is the best way to wash it? I have been told putting a hose on it is ok, but im not convinced..

Will the chain have to be lubed after?

Any thoughts?

2. It is ok to use a hose, bikes are designed to get wet! Just get yourself a bucket, sponge and some car wash liquid and off you go. Hose it down soap it up rinse it off. Take it for a ride around the block to get the exess water off, chamois it down, lube the chain and you are all done. :)
  3. if you wanted to be 100% on the safe side, cover the intake ports (or air filter entrance, not sure on your bike whats where) with a rag, and stick a rag in your exhaust end.

when you wash it, try not to put too much hose pressure on the chain, brakes and instruments (they may get water inside them and fog up with condensation).

be sure to lube your chain once it's dry, and don't forget about those rags you've stuffed in your intake and exhaust!

everything should be fine, people wash their bikes with hoses and soapy crap every single day.

IF by chance something stuffs up, it'll only take some water disperser spray and a bit more time, but you'll be right.
  4. Washing the beast?????

What we talking about here???

This is a motorcycle forum....such fithy talk shouldn't be allowed!! :LOL:

Please keep it clean, thanks!! :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: :LOL:
  5. If you spend anymore then 30 seconds washing it then you are no longer washer and you will go to hell.