Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

NSW Was he breaking the law?

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by jslim1008, Feb 16, 2016.

1. #1 jslim1008, Feb 16, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 16, 2016
    Hi, there, wishing for the best and safety of everyone on this forum :D
    I'm new to riding and today I rode on the Sydney M1 Motorway, passing the Airport.

I have one question.
    On M1 motorway (Going up towards the city) near the Golf course
    I was riding and I saw a P plate rider riding on the side lane (?) of the highway, virtually the can only fit a motorcycle or a bicycle. So while the traffic turtled at around 40kph, he was just speeding past at like 80kph, no traffic.
    Was he breaking the law or is that lane for motorcycles?

Here's Google Streetview

Google Maps
  2. Illegal, on two points. i) Lane filtering is not allowed in kerbside or breakdown lanes, ii) lane filtering is only legal for speeds up to 30 km/h
  3. Plus, I think, P plate and learners are not allowed to lane filter anyway (?????)
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. >p-platers...

Remember that these are the current rules in NSW which is what is being talked about here (obviously the people who wrote this know that already, but pointing it out for a wider audience).

FWIW it should be legal...but that is a whole different discussion.
  5. The emergency lane is a viable option in QLD but with certain conditions attached.

Saw 2 bike cops having a field day on the Gateway @ Nudgee last Friday. Pulled up 6 bikes in a couple of minutes because they were using the emergency lane to filter in an 80 zone. If the speed limit was 90 along that stretch those guys would have been fine.