Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Wanting to start to ride

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by jasoni, Nov 13, 2005.

1. Hi Guys,

This is my first post. I thought it would be best to ask you all my questions as you are avid riders!

Im 24, live in SA and want to ride motorcycles on the road. I have spent my childhood riding dirtbikes from yamahas to kwaka's and everything in between. I have always loved ducati's and I have decided to set my eyes on a ducati 748 (red of course), between 98-2003 model.
    Now, as I am a complete newbie to riding on the road i would love some advice on what I should do.
    I do have my full licence.
    I know I have to sit a written test and I believe I have to sit a (maybe two) practical tests also.
    What are the things I need to know, how much will the written and practical courses cost me, and how long will it be before I am able to get a ducati :) (meaning how long will it take to get off my L's)

I will want to get leathers too... So am i looknig at around $500 for a jacket and about $400 for a helmet, maybe $50 for some gloves....
    ? Will i need to get wet weather gear as well?? Is there anything else I think i might need??? I have so many questions.. I think i will leave it at this, I hope you all can answer my stupid beginner questions ..