Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

wannabe rider with few questions

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by abvc, Dec 15, 2006.

1. hi guys, i found this forum by accident which surprised me that it is what i am looking for. However I have few questions that I cant find the answers:

1. what are the real process to get a learner license?
    2. how to switch the gear to neutral?

as a background, i'm an experienced manual car driver.

Thanks heaps!.

2. Let's start by asking what state you are in, because the process is diferent for each state.

As for nutral there is a nutral spot in the gearbox as apposed to a car that is nutral between gears. there is a light that comes on to say when you are innutral.
  3. OK, well first of all welcome to Netrider; we don't care if you find the forum by accident or not, but it's good that you did.

Now, in order to answer you question about L plates we need to know the state in which you reside; laws are different in each state.

Neutral is always found one 'click' below 2nd, or one above 1st in a standard '1-down 5-up' gearbox.
  4. oh my state is VIC.

so for example, can I jump to neutral from 4?

5. Are you trying to find the neutral in a cb250???

Almost impossible. What I do is get it down to first and after I stopped give it a bit of throttle while moving the gear level gently.

The only way I can do it.

6. No you can't; a motorcycle gearbox is what's called a constant-mesh gearbox and gears must be changed in sequence, up and down. You can, for example, change down twice or three times heading down to a set of lights, but it would be down to 5th, then 4th then 3rd, not straight from 6th to second, for example.....