Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Wallabies and speed - sounds like another footy story...

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by flimflam, Jun 19, 2009.

1. Hey guys i am a newb when it comes to bikes and i am after some guidance from all you well travelled lot. I have a two part question.

1. What happens when you come off at a hundred plus? I know it'd depend on conditions etc but in general, is it just a slide and can jeans and a jacket handle this?
    If you have come off at this speed or more what happened to you? Are you still riding?

2. What happens if you hit a wallaby at this speed, one of the little foot high ones? Is it a guaranteed off? Or do you just make the wallaby/cat/dog/marsupial possum or yowie bounce off your bike? I had a close call with a wallaby but luckily it managed to escape road runner style, running on the spot before it took off.

Apologies if this is in the wrong bit, please move if it is mods.

Happy riding.

2. 1) Jacket and jeans - enjoy your skin grafths. Weather you roll or slide is something that can't really be predicted esp at speeds like that and if your hit. Live or die or perm injuries who knows

2) hitting almost any animal will most likely cause you to crash.

3. Ordinary jeans = bad. (In the CE abrasion test, ordinary jeans burn through in about 0.3 seconds, from memory. Not long at all...)

You really need:
    (1) impact protection; eg: CE foam pads protecting shoulders, elbows, hips, knees... Along with boots that offer good ankle support.

(2) abrasion protection; eg: leather armour or 'Cordura' textile armour, motorcycling gloves, sturdy boots...

4. cheers spots and geeth,