Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Walking and dropping the bike

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by guye777, Apr 26, 2008.

1. So, now that I am an expert (4 month's L's and now 3 days P's plus one NR Day Trip Ride ;) ), I need to get my partner up to speed.

For those not up to speed with my story; my wife got me into riding in the first place! We both got our learners together, and I bought us both VTR250s. The idea was we would be able to go on Sunday rides for lattes up to Narbethong or similar!

Anyway, ironically I've taken to it like a duck to water, but she is a lot more hesitant. I find it difficult to get her to go out for a ride. She has not ridden by herself yet (I mean she rides her own bike, but not without me leading or following).

I pressed her the other day and she confessed she is very nervous (der!) but not what I thought. She claims the riding is OK - she worries about dropping the bike while manoeuvring it BEFORE starting it, and also at very slow speeds.

My thought was to do two things then:

1. Manoeuvring
    a) Take her bike out on the lawn and drop it! Then teach her to lift it (using Loz's excellent method).
    b) Have her walk the bike around straddling it, walking beside it, even to the point where she can walk in front of it.
    c) See if she can master the 'turn the bike on it's side stand' method of a 180 turn.

2. Slow speed handling
    a) Setup a witches hat course in a carpark like the one I did at the learner and license tests.
    b) Book her into an additional training course (can you do thee pre-license day?)

Any thoughts? Comments? Offers of help? Loan of some witches hats :grin:
  2. Guy, it could be a size/weight issue?
    Not knowing your wife, is she smallish? can she flat-foot the VTR?