Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Waiting at traffic lights / intersection

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by garudabird, Feb 2, 2016.

1. Just wondering what others think: Being a newbie I find it quite uncomfortable sitting at traffic lights knowing that the car coming up behind me may or not stop (but probably will). In a car I think well it won't be my fault and he can pay for it, on my bike I think this could be it - all over if this guy doesn't stop! SO how far behind the car in front is good to pull up? Where in relation to the car as in road position - is anywhere safer? At the moment, I sit in about the middle, in 1st, scanning my mirrors - hopefully will be able to zip out the way if I feel I need to. Any thoughts, advice, opinions?

2. I sometimes tap on my brake to get the light flashing if I see someone coming up behind me and braking a bit late. I also look for somewhere to escape to and keep it in first and ready to go until the car has pulled up behind me.
    • Agree Agree x 5
  3. #3 Jeffco, Feb 2, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2016
    watch mirror sometimes tap brakes
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. Leave a good distance behind you and move to the side so you align with the gap along the edge of the car. That way if you are hit from behind you are less likely to be sandwiched.

As has already been said, watch your mirrors and when you see a car coming along behind you flash the brake lights to attract their attention and assist them in seeing you.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  5. Zip out of the way? - not into a busy intersection I would hope.

I understand your trepidation. What can you do?