Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Waiting at red lights?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by gordon84, Mar 19, 2013.

1. Hey all

Might be a very dumb question but I'm only very new to riding and i've been commuting to work lately and found that i have been for a long time at red lights. There is a set of traffic lights at my work which hardly anyone uses and i've waited there around 6/7 minutes when i got feed up and just ran the red light thinking it was a malfunction. The next day i was waiting at the same lights and waiting for a couple of minutes at the lights and a car pulled up behind me and it went green almost straight away.

Is it just me or does this happen to other riders?? Do bikes not have enough metal or weight to trigger a traffic light?

Besides just running a red light any advice would help. :)

• Like Like x 2
  2. The inductive sensor in the road might be a bit less sensitive than some others. Get yourself a fat arsed magnet and stick it to the bottom of your frame/engine somewhere, it's a trick the push-bike guys use.

• Like Like x 1
  3. or sit over the sensor and hit your start button. The induced effect will trigger the sensor.

4. Yep just hit the starter, much easier than sticking a magnet to your bike!

5. You can see the inductor, putting the kickstand down over it works too. Or if there is a pedestrian button close enough to hit without getting off your bike go for that.

• Like Like x 2