Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

VTR250 major service cost breakdown

Discussion in 'Businesses and Service Providers' started by mewnz, May 6, 2009.

1. First up, mods if this is in the wrong place feel free to move. I figured maintenance forum was more for questions about how to etc.

Alrighty, hey everyone. Today I picked up the two fiddy from the mechs, and was wondering if the price I paid for the services was an honest one. I'm on the fence at the moment, and it's my first time dealing with a shop for an actual service.

Bike pickup - $88. (Chain came off whilst riding)
    Major service - $380
    Front/Rear sprocket - $36.36 each
    Chain - $117.27
    Spark plug - $25.46 (This seems waaaay off to me.)
    Seatoil Spring - $3.63 (Don't honestly know what this is?)
    Oil filter - $14.25
    Labour for chain/sprocket - $88

In total I paid $810, which I got down from $1000.

I was told that the valves were inspected and adjusted and that this took roughly 5 hours and was the main reason for the initial price. Is this true?

When I had called earlier, I was told the major would cost roughly 350 + any parts needed like brake pads etc. The way I'm reading it, oil filter etc was included in this initial quote. So paying 380 + filter + sparks seems like I'm paying twice?

I also know it doesn't equal 810, but it was only around 20 dollars off when I checked so I didn't bother.

So... is this fairly standard? I was expecting to pay around 6-700. Bit of a shock that a 250 service cost so much. Any comments are welcome, I'll be back after uni if I've left anything out. Thanks in advance for any comments!
  2. sounds to me like you might need a band aid for your ring :bannanabutt:
  3. You can spend as much time and money on your bike as you like, really.