Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

VTR250 2015

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by AeRocb, Jan 20, 2015.

1. Hi All,
    Newbie here.
    Just got my L's recently and looking for some advice about my first bike.
    About me:
    Weight: ~80kgs
    Riding experience: very little
    Budget including gear ~ <$10k
    Riding position: prefer upright
    Will be using my bike for weekend recreational riding/ occasional hwy riding.
    Not interested in racing/or daily commuting.
    Went to the local dealer to have a look at some bikes that I researched earlier and came up with this list:
    1.Honda CB500F - Looks nice but not very keen on the look and seating position does not suit me.
    2.Yamaha SR 400 - Dealer did not have anything on display. This bike has got a kickstarter instead of electronic start. Prefer electronic start though.
    3. Suzuki TU250x - Nice looking bike but the sales guy said that these bikes will struggle on the freeway.
    My question is as a newbie, what bike would you advise me to look for and at the same time I want something that I can grow with as my skill level goes up and will have to live with for at least 3 years until I get off my Ps/restrictions.
    I prefer a new bike as I'm not mechanically minded person.'
    The VTR250 seems to be recommended the most on the web as they are "bulletproof", but can't find a new one anywhere on Honda's website.
    How do I get a new or near new in perfect condition in Melbourne.
    Any advice from experienced riders? Please share your experience if you ride a VTR250 currently.