Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

VTR250 2006 Clutch replacement

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' at netrider.net.au started by AnthonyVTR250, Apr 16, 2014.

1. Hi everyone:)

I'm new to the forum so let me start by apologising if I've put this in the wrong place or if this thread already exists (I did do a search).

Basically I'm having some clutch issues with the VTR, releasing the clutch in first (when going from a standing start) causes the bike to lerch forward. Also changing gears; when releasing the clutch the bike rev's hard but does not increase in speed, the revs then slowly back off until the clutch stops.. slipping? (I imagine the clutch is slipping anyway) and will then build speed and revs like normal. I have little motorcycle experience but am more than happy to get my hands dirty. Spoke to a friend who has a lot of riding under his belt and he too believes its the clutch plates slipping. The bike is only 13000km's, does do a lot of heavy traffic/bumper to bumper stuff though so it is possible I or the previous owner have burnt the clutch out.

Anyways, I am now reading up / watching videos etc on clutch replacement & thought there are probably a load of riders here who have replaced clutches, maybe even on a VTR250.

What I’m really wanting to know is, what should I replace?

I see people saying replace the clutch plates, springs, slipper plates etc.. is this necessary?

Also where would be best to buy these parts? I have looked on the web and the parts I’m finding are in Japan and I’m not confident I’d be buying the correct stuff.

Now before anyone asks I am happy to take it to a workshop (probably bikesplus in Essendon) but I want to use my VTR to learn as much as I can about bikes so why not give repairing it myself a bash.