Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

vstar 650 bobber

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by subscan, Dec 23, 2010.

1. Hi All

I thought I would share some pic of my xvs 650 bobber project

I bought a kit from Blue Collar Bobber in the states www.bluecollarbobbers.com

The kit arrived in 12 days and the staff (Lance ) was fantastic to deal with.

The main reason I went for a kit was I could fit it with just hand tools and no fabrication ( I only have a car bay to work in and NO experience with bikes and live in a appartment)

While I was waiting I have found a second hand tank of ebay

This is my first project.
    I didn't have the cash for a paint job so it gave spray cans a go on my second hand tank....Disaster It looked bad.

So I decided to go the Faux Patina look ( I know people don't like the idea but its my bike) at least the bad bits all sort of work now. Layers of paint rubbing back and some rust special effects paint.

I will post more photos as it progresses over the next couple of weeks

Attached Files:

2. Cool!!

Looking forward to see what you do to my bike.

3. Had a chance to do a little more yesterday

Very surprised how easy it was to remove the rear fender 4 bolts and 1 connector!!

I kind of like it with out the seat

The wiring for in blinkers and stoplight was a bit of a head ache.

The seat and fender were straight bolt on.

I am not so sure of the side mount stop light number plate . I think it looks a
    little heavy on a small bike.

Attached Files:

4. aren't they illegal?
  5. Thanks Shady , It looks like the plate is illegal on the side.

Any Ideas of what I could do that would still look ok . But still different?

I could alway fit a Spato Tail light like every other bobber.

Attached Files: