Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Vmoto Horror Story

Discussion in 'Scooters' started by pommygit, Jan 6, 2006.

1. Noticed there was another thread that asked if Vmoto was any good, the posts went a bit off topic so thought id start a new one with my horror story. I’m not very technically minded with bikes so sorry if some of my wording is wrong.

I bought a Vmoto Milan 5 months ago straight after getting my learner permit. Was attracted to them mainly because of the cheap price and retro styling. Really wasn’t much on them as far as reviews so I knew I was taking a risk.

Anyway it went great for the first month or so. Was as much as you could expect from a 50cc I suppose, top speed of about 65-70 (at a push).

Had my first service and after that it just went down hill. Firstly the brakes started squeaking like mad and I mean like real noisy eardrum damaging squeaky. Was driving me mad. Then the engine started packing in. First to go was its performance. It just stopped going any faster than 55 and even down hill wouldn’t let it go. I tolerated this for another 2-3 weeks before I noticed oil was leaking when I had it garaged and at this point I had enough. I took it back to the vmoto dealer and they agreed to get a mechanic to have a look.

With credit to them they gave me a demo model to drive around on. A few days later I got it back and after a short ride it became apparent that there was no difference. Still no faster than 55 and breaks were still squeaking.

I went back and complained but they tried telling me it wasn’t meant to go any faster than 55 anyway so wouldn’t look at it again.

I thought that was crap and wasn’t impressed but off I went and just tried to put up with it.