Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Visor Cleaning products?

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by MR_PEA, Aug 8, 2008.

1. im a bit of a noob when it come to cleaning plastics..
    i am picking up my VTR250 tomorrow and after trying my new helmet on last night, i have found that the visor has some much on it from the stickers that were on it..

when it comes to vision I am a bit of a clean freak and hate having my vision disturbed.

for my car i have Meguires Glass cleaner which works fantastic, would this be suitable for my plastic Visor? or would you just use water?
  2. visors have strange and mysterious coatings that can be damaged by cleaners. I only use water or plexus on the outside..
  3. Spraway #50 glass cleaner.

Available from here

Ammonia free and works a treat.

Irridium visors are a bastard to clean without damaging them. I would only use water and a tissue on Irridium.

Tinted and clear visors you can "abuse" and they are pretty resilient.
  4. sorry but its a Shark Helmet with a clear visor...

Meg's is ammonia free and works awesome on tinted windows ect...
    still reccon no good?

i sell plexus at work ill get some of that. as its specified for plastic......
  5. shark have an anti fog coating inside so I'm a bit wary about putting plexus on the inside
  6. vu-plex,plexus or mr sheen with a mico fiber cloth on my iridium and clear visor all work great.
    no scratching.
  7. I've only ever used soap and water, with my fingertips to scrub it in. Works for me and my visors last for ages (although I've not had an iridium one so can't comment there).
  8. Plexus, Vuplex or Mr Sheen I use either on my Shark helmet, work a treat.
  9. What price does your work sell plexus for MR PEA?