Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Visiting Australia & hoping to hire a bike

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by sam88t, Aug 22, 2016.

1. Hi all,

I am a 28 year old male and I have been riding for 5 years or so in the UK.

I started riding after deciding one day that I'd had enough of sitting in traffic! (anyone that has been to the UK will know that rush hour traffic lasts for at least 2 hours morning and night and affects even the smallest of towns in our small and well populated country...).

However, I have fallen in love with getting out on the country lanes and really getting to know the bikes I have owned and the roads around where I live.

I will be coming to Australia for 3 weeks in October and I am looking to hire a motorbike to ride from Sydney to Brisbane over 3 days - does anyone have any recommendations for which companies to use and which to avoid?

Also, if there are any roads/locations on that route that are worth a visit, then please let me know!

Thanks in advance,

• Like Like x 1
  2. Welcome to NR from Adelaide South Australia. I would land in Melbourne and ride ti Brisband if I had 3 weeks. The locals can give you all of the low downs for their patch.
  3. Hello sam88tsam88t & welcome :)

Well I am not sure which company is good to hire down in Syd way, but I know a lot of good roads to do between the two places.

Jeebers! 3 days is doable but can't you make it 3 weeks and really see the place? ;)
    If you swing by the Gold Coast gimme a hoy, or depending on the dates I may even ride south a bit and meet you somewhere and show you roads to Brisbane.

Things to consider;
    From Sydney a good stop over place is Port Macquarie (coast route) or Walcha or Uralla (inland).

On Oct it is starting to get hot towards the north.