Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Victoria looks into filtering

Discussion in 'Research, Studies, and Data' started by korbail, Jun 26, 2013.

1. I'm new to this so take it easy on me, but something doesnt make sense to me here.... why would they promote a filtering awareness campaign when for all intensive purposes, filtering is still "illegal"... granted if it helps some cagers be more aware of us then i'm all for that... and its a step in the right direction. but yeah just a thought i had
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. They're looking at making it legal, but before they do they will probably do a trial just like NSW has.
  3. Its also illegal in QLD, even though I have been trialing it for the past 10 years. Preliminary results are "its good".
    • Like Like x 3
    • Funny Funny x 1
  4. hopefully all goes well then, but it is Vic after all
  5. Is anybody actually looking seriously into it, or even thinking about trialing it here? Or are we just wishing "somebody" would?
  6. I've just had another look at the government response, and I can't see anywhere where they say they'll do anything to promote filtering. It only speaks of finding ways to increase mutual respect and awareness btw motorcycles and drivers. It DOES give a negative spin to filtering (impractical to enforce, avoiding unsafe lane splitting) AND says there'll be no change to any road rules.

So I can't see where all this has come from.
    Page 21, recommendation 59.
  7. I think you're right GD.