Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

[VIC] Speeding fine, 95 in a 60 zone. First offence, help?

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by Booki, Nov 25, 2008.

1. Alright. Ill cut straight to it. I know it was a stupid thing to do. Though i find it hard to believe i was doing that in a 60 zone :S.
    80 I would believe, but 98 (95 cause of allowance) seems a little high.
    Mind you i am still on my CBR250R as well, Learners.

I have never gotten a speeding fine or lost any points before on my car, ( i am a probationary driver, i have green p's, i will have had them for a year on december 10.)

Would there be any chance i could fight this, as according to the fine it says i loose my license for 6 months.
    Thing is, thats gonna cause some problems....i have some debt i need to work to get rid of and i live out in the semi bush with little public transport. So getting to and from work is going to stuff me up big time, and i work nightshifts.

Do you think its worth objecting to the fine or taking it to court? (ive never been to court before!, not got a speeding fine so i have no idea what to do :? )

Any opinions or advice would be great!

Btw; the Fine is a whopping $408. Would there be anyway i could keep my license and maybe go on a good behavior licence or something along those lines?
  2. If it's a greed camera fine then I reckon you're stuffed. The best thing you can do is seek legal advice and take it from there.
  3. Under the Bracks rule, he brought in MANDATORY sentencing for traffic offences.

My advice is to PRE-lube, as it hurts a little less.
  4. How do you know if it is a "Greed" camera?
    Would it say on the fine?
  5. Was it a speed camera or were you intercepted?
    Either way get ready for PT.