Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

VIC bunch of Qs regarding SPADAs, RWC & mechanic inspect

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' at netrider.net.au started by samtastic, Aug 27, 2009.

1. hi all,
    im planning on test riding a spada at some point soon. It's located at a dealer in the city, so i was thinking i would ride it out to Kensington to find some quieter roads (im only a newbie to riding, but i used to live in Ken, so know the area). And i was wondering if anyone could recommend a bike mechanic in the Kensington/North Melbourne area to have a quick look over the bike and tell me what they think. I've read through Netrider's 'guide to buying a secondhand bike', but i dont know *that* much about motos or have any mates that do. So i was hoping i could get a pro to have a quick geez.

And regarding spadas, apart from the faded speedo/tacho dials, what other ways can you spot a grey import versus one that was originally sold here?

Also, with RWCs, for how long are they valid? Is it 12 months? And are there different requirements for older bikes?

One more: I always see riders creeping through traffic at stopped traffic lights. Is this perfectly legal? I know that 'lane-splitting' isn't, as that's one of the laws mentioned in the Vic ride's Road to Solo Riding manual (or whatever it's called). but is this traffic-creeping the same as lane-splitting? Surely the creeping would be ok, since the traffic is stopped, and a bike will have a faster take-off anyway, so be ahead of the pack and more visible, right?

cheers : )

2. oh one more!