Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

[Vic] Bike insurance

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by markcpotter, Mar 19, 2009.

1. Hello,

just looking for some advice.

I am new to biking in Australia - although have ridden previously in the UK for a number of years.

I have just bought an 05 600rr - my question relates to insurance - I currently only have the insurance that is provided ad part of my rego which I understand is enough from a legal perspective however firstly I have been told that theft is not too common in Australia (my bike is parked daily in the cbd with an alarm and disclock (although not chained to anything as I would have done back in the UK).

Secondly with regards to third party or fully comprehensive do most people buy it - is it considered necessary.

Also am I missing something or can you buy third party fire and theft as a cover as this doesn't seem to be offered as a single product (or is it a case of buying theft and third party separately?

Many thanks,
  2. a lot of companies will offer third party, and then theft in addition to that. or something.

in regards to crime being low, it really differs. your bike could be one of hundreds along a street and get knicked, you'll find quite a few posts following those themes.

nothing is considered necesary outside of individual opinion. i have full comp. on mine, simply cause i can't afford to replace it, share it with my old man, and is first bike.

though once i upgrade it may just go back to third party, always, always get the theft option i reckon.

I am by no means qualified in this field, just what ive read, and some opinions

3. I pulled these facts off a gov.au site awhile ago - I believe it relates to the 2005 - 2006 period.