Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

V-strom for first decent road bike?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by cypher247, Aug 17, 2009.

1. Ok, I've searched the forums and found heaps of good stuff about the V-strom 650, mind's almost made up but wanted a second opinion...

I've had limited road experience - an ancient CB250 15 years ago, my brothers XJ750 as my only transport for a few months, also years ago, and the odd ride on mates bikes - eg GPZ1100 (I'm going HOW fast? ummm, gently roll throttle off.....), some Kawasaki 2 stroke thing, RZ250 etc.

But I've ridden dirt bikes all my life... latest being an XR400 which I sold a year or so ago as I wasn't using it. Even when I was using it I was mostly playing on the bitumen and graded gravel and sand roads, avoided the really rough stuff as I didn't like the idea of laying somewhere with a broken leg until a farmer found me...

Anyway, I'm anxious to get back on two wheels and I think it's time for a road bike. I don't want a boring beginners bike but I realise I have significant skill limitations so don't want an R1 either.

I live in Mildura, far north west corner of VIC, desert country - 550ks to Melbourne, 450ks to Adelaide. Lots of flat, straight, but poorly maintained roads, b-doubles and caravans.... Budget is less than $10k, includes $1500 for riding gear and $500 for advanced rider training, so about $8k or less for the bike and ORC.

Ideally I want a single bike that will do the following:

Comfortably handle longish distances so I can get to somewhere that has hills and associated twisty bits - so 5-6 hour transport sections regularly.
    Have enough power and decent handling to be fun around those corners.