Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Using the clutch...

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by bambam_101, Jun 10, 2007.

1. Just curious as to how many people here actually use their clutch when riding. Obviously you have to use it when coming to a stop or taking off in first, but lately im finding that not using the clutch is much easier/quicker/smoother that actually using it. Upshifting or downshifting, it doesnt matter. I find it heaps easier. All you need is good throttle control for it to be a nice smooth clutchless gearchange.

Is this a commonly done thing?
  2. Hey Bambam.

I seldom use the clutch once I'm under way. Of course as an instructor I'm always being Mister Nerdy and going on about clutch use and practise...but as so often is the case in life, once you've learned them, you can start to break some rules.

I grew up racing dirt bikes and upshifting not just without dipping the clutch, but without backing off the throttle, either. My sense of mechanical sympathy for my road bikes means that I generally at least back off before upchanging on the road...unless there's someone ahead that I really want to catch up to.

Of the experienced sport road riders I know, few use the clutch to upshift. Hope this helps answer your question...

3. Yeah thats pretty much what i was getting at. To upshift, i usually back off the throttle very slightly and its smooth as. You can do it without backing off at all but it feels very rough and violent.

4. Geez old blue - I was at one of your courses (maybe) and took in everything you said to heart!