Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Using a map or street directory while riding a bike

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by ac17, May 23, 2008.

1. Hi - this is a really dumb (but very relevant question) from a total newbie:
    How does one get from A to B if B is a place you need to use a street directory / map for?

(E.g., when driving a car - it's simple: you just read it at the lights. But you can't do that on a bike).

So how do you find your way around in a new place (are there Tom Toms for Bikes?)

-I truly have no idea (my only guess is that "you cant ride a bike if you don't know where you're going" - but that just seems impractical)
  2. Well if you read a street directory in a car at the lights you can expect a fine. At least in VIC you can. Yes I have seen TomTom attached to a bike but again down here it is a touchy grey area as to weather they are legal to use whilst driving. So long as you only listen to the verbal directions it is fine, if you get caught looking at it you can be fined. This would make it hard on a bike not being able to hear it unless you get your helmet wired.
  3. Uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh... No.

Navigational device screens and driver-aids are permitted to be placed in the driver's field of vision. It says so explicitly in the road rules.

DVD players, computers (unless it's a navigational aid) etc within the field of vision, against the law.

Edit: Here's the rule-

299 Television receivers and visual display units in motor
    (1) A driver must not drive a motor vehicle that has a television
    receiver or visual display unit in or on the vehicle operating
    while the vehicle is moving, or is stationary but not parked, if
    any part of the image on the screen: