Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Used or new help

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by marviin3, Mar 10, 2015.

1. Hey,

I'm am wanting to get my learners soon, and wondering if its a better idea to get a used bike or new?
    I have no previous experience on motorcycles.

I have searched for used bikes and they are all fairly pricey >$3000 for a somewhat decent 10 year old bike. Or I can get new one for say $6000, or a finance deal.

Which one would work best for me?

2. If you have little or no riding experience, get a used bike. You're more liable to drop it.
  3. ^^^ Wot he said
  4. But used bikes dont seem so cheap and who knows how much the previous owner has bashed it...
  5. Probably no more than you will :whistle:
  6. And you can always drop the price a fair bit for a used bike. Just do what I did. Get someone who loves the haggling business and drop a $4000 bike down to $3300.
    Edit: once you've ridden a new bike it's already been used and loses its value.
  7. Now with the 3 year P period i can see people wanting to get a bike thats going to last the distance , retain value etc rather than get something for a year then be done with it.

I can see both sides of the story with this..

In this instance i'd say go with what YOU want. If you want a brand new shiny bike then go ahead and get it.
    The price these days could be the difference between a CB400 used or a Ninja 300 new..

All depends on your riding style and bike preference.

• Agree Agree x 2