Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

URGENT oil question, 10w30 - 10w40

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' started by Freeform, Dec 26, 2011.

1. Hey guys,

I'm riding a cb1100 (big air/oil cooled donk), about to jump on the ferry for tas however I noticed that the oil level indicator is riding on minimum.
    No stores in melb open today stock the 10w30 recommended in the manual.

If I top it up with 10w40 will it damage the engine?
    Is it better to leave it and try my luck in tas?

Let me know asap thanks :)
  2. I'll preface this with I am not an expert :) The numbers represent viscosity at cold and hot temperatures. So the 10W40 will be a little more slow to flow at cooler temps but work over to a higher overall temp. A top up should be fine if it is low enough to be dangerous. But best to use 10W30 if that's whats recommended in future. Have a good trip. :)
  3. Nearly^^^^ The 10w40 will actually be the same viscoscity at low temperatures, but act as a 40w instead of 30 at high temperatures. Should not cause any issues at all. I'm actually surprised that your big air cooled engine only needs 10w30 to be honest.

PS I'm certainly no expert either, but would not think twice about doing it to my own bike.

PPS Just had a look at the owners manual for your bike, and 10w40 is actually recommended for higher temperatures. Go for your life.
  4. 10w-30 and 10w-40 are just estimates. I remember from a test graph that 10w-40 are slightly thicker at low temps, but not enough to care.

If you want to splash on cash, Id recommend 0w-40 synth, like Mobil 1.

Youll cover both bases then.