Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Upgrading to a 600 - advise

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Garbled, Aug 21, 2009.

1. Hi All,

I have been riding a ZZR250 for about two years and am going to convert to a full license today! That said I am going to test ride a few 600's this weekend.

I am a bit nervous about riding a bigger bike (for the first time) and was wondering if anyone had any tips? I am reasonably comptent rider however was wondering if there anything specific that I should look out for (compared to my ZZR).

Btw I am drooling at the 2008 CBR600RR and the Triumph Daytona 675 atm.

2. My first piece of advice is be willing to abuse the clutch for the first little while.
    Let it out slowly, and get the weight onto the engine progressively.
    Getting used to the take off is the first thing that I found caught me out. (Especially on the CBR) I haven’t had the pleasure of riding the 675, but looking at the torque curve on it (Which is $exy) you will have to follow the same advise, though you won’t have to spin it up the same way.
    The next thing you will find has absolutely nothing to do with the bigger engine.
    Moving from a ZZR to a CBR or 675 the geometry is completely different and the COG Is way higher. So it tips in very differently, be patient and work with it a little until you get used to the feel before you throw it at a corner.
    If you get into heavy traffic give yourself some space until you are confident with that whole clutch thing, because once again it can catch you out.
    Other than that. Play and smile and don’t get caught at licence burning speeds by the po po…