Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Unlicensed riding, how prevelant is it.

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by Julian Walker, Jul 22, 2007.

1. Everywhere I go I hear of people who are riding outside of their L or P Plate restrictions! Some who have been riding on the roads for over 10-20 years and have only had a licence for the last couple of years or not at all. Is there so much of it going on but everyone just speaks the political correct dialect and just wont admit it? How prevelant is it ?
    I know that there will be some people that will jump up and down about the implications of it but thats not my point. Im relatively new to biking and Im amazed at the continous recommendations of "get a bigger bike because thats what everyone does"
    Just curious on some honest feedback to how common this may actually be?

2. Great question but I don't know how you will go about getting an accurate answer.
    I would think most of us have done something like what you're asking in the past. I first drove on the road at 13. Didn't do it every day but it was more than a few occasions and I rode bikes for many years with no license. That changed when kids came along.
    The problem with the accuracy comes down to whether people do it regularly or occasionally and whether they have a general disregard for the law. I also think it could be age/responsibility related too.

A poll could be good.
    Have you ever ridden outside restrictions?
    A couple of times
    Thinking about it

Good luck and I'll be interested in your reply's.