Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Unconnecteds Sydney to Brisbane ride

Discussion in 'Roads, Touring, Journeys, and Travel' started by Unconnected, Aug 27, 2012.

1. One of the convincing factors for me getting a bike was watching Ewen & Charlies Long Way Round trip, i have always wanted to go for a long multi day ride since i started riding last june, whilst i spent a year researching bikes and riding i was constantly planning long rides that maximised backroads and twisties. Trips to Tasmania and Brisbane being the best destinations for maximum corner carving.

Until recently there was little reason for me to ride to either of these destinations, but i did a lot of long day weekend rides through western ACT backroads, wee Jasper, Kings Hwy, Nasho/Kv/MacPass and of course Old Road/Putty/Wollumbi and surrounding areas.

However about three weeks ago a good mate of mine ive known for about 7 years moved up to Brisbane for a job, so now that i had a place to crash and the weather had gone into temporary summer mode, it seemed like the perfect time to go for my first ever multi day tour of just about every backroad, mountain pass and set of twisties between Sydney and Brisbane. It was time to realize one of the reasons of why i bought a bike.

My bike is a 1988 (24) Honda VFR400R NC24 Tri Colour Limited Edition.

It has a 400cc V4 that makes around 65hp and a lot of low down talk, it also has very skinny wheels, a very small amount of legroom and agressive clip ons. Its not really the kind of bike to take on a multi day tour, but at least i would enjoy the hell out of it in the twisties.