Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Uncomfortable car driver, is a motorbike for me?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by flyingsquirrel, Aug 6, 2011.

1. About five years ago I got my car driver's license. I drove for about 200 hours but never felt comfortable in a car. I've always felt claustrophobic and had trouble sensing where I am in relation to others, to the point where I don't feel like I am a safe driver. I felt like I was sitting in the back row of a cinema watching a movie. The car just never felt like an extension of my body as it should. It felt disconnected, for lack of a better word. This feeling led me to sell my car and jog to work or use public transport for the past four years.

One big thing that I really couldn't come to terms with in my car was the lack of feedback. On a pushbike I can feel the brake calipers as they grip the rim and the tires' traction on the road. I could never get that feedback from my car because everything was drive-by-wire.

Recently I've been looking into motorcycles. They appeal to me because I think they would not feel like a lounge room on wheels like my car did. The increased visibility, maneuverability and feedback from the road and noise of nearby cars could work in my favour. Given my bad experiences with a car, do you think a motorbike could suit me?

2. Re: Uncomfortable car driver is a motorbike for me?

Mate a motorbike sounds PERFECT for you, go get your learners, sit on as many bikes you can sit on and test ride as many bikes as the dealers will let you, let us know how you go and what bike you choose. If you can ride a bicycle, then you shouldn't have any problems learning how to ride a motorcycle.