Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

UNable to go past 80kmh

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Prime, Jul 20, 2006.

1. my CBX250 wont go past 80kph, upto 80 is no prob, once i get into 4th gear it just dies on its ass, no power, now its done nearly 70000 so I sorta figure maybe its a tired engine, but ive never had any other problems.

I purchased it about 2 or so months ago and the only thing the bike shop has done to see if we can increase the speed is put a new sprocket on the front, they said next thjing they will check is the carby and see if its ok, im a noob for technical crap but im really disappointed that my first ever bike is a dud, im quite sad about it.

I get scared if I have to go on the freeway so I try to avoid it where possible, any suggestions :?:

2. Did they check if the air is getting into the motor (air filter) and if it's getting back out again (exhaust pipe)??? If either one of these is blocked, the engine will be 'strangled'........
  3. Is the problem that you can't get to 80kph or that you can't get to a certain rpm? (I'm thinking that mabe you might only get to a certain rpm when you get to 80kph). IF the prob. is that you can't get to a certain rpm, then to my limited knowledge it sounds to me like there is could be a problem with your carburator jets (I'm assuming the bike even has a carburator, or even two!). A carb. has several jets that are used to deliver fuel at different throttle positions. mabe the jet that is used to deliver fuel at the higher rpm is blocked? Just my 2 cents worth! For all my motorcycle fix it knowledge I use this web site, http://www.dansmc.com/MC_repaircourse.htm