Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Tyres lifespan and choice

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Spocky, Feb 3, 2012.

1. Hello all,

I am very new to motorcycling but realise that the tyres are a more critical part of the bike than for cars. I have a couple of questions for independent opinions:

1) How long do tyres on a mid size (650cc Ninja specifically) last with normal riding?
    2) Reviews I have read discuss changing the tyres to different versions. How do you assess tyres in view of improving the handling characteristics of the bike with a particular tyre when obviously you can't try them all out on your specific bike? Is there an independent guide to tyres and performance with different bike makes and sizes somewhere?

Cheers Spocky

2. It all depends on what tyre you use (compound) and how you ride. What is normal riding to you won't be for many others.

Two different riders will get vastly different life from the same tyre on the same bike dependant on how they ride.

There are plenty of great tyres on the market, See your supplierand let them know what sort of riding you do will be the best bet.
  3. Your bike manaul will often recommend stock tyres to fit on your bike so you can use that if all else fails.

Alot of people try to go up a size on their rear tyre so from behind the tyre looks fatter so try to avoid that as it will affect how the bike handles, tips in to corners etc and may not even fit on the rim properly.

As SBK said, work out what kind of riding you mostly do - commuting, spirited rides through twisties, everyday riding etc and go from there.