Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Tyre Wear

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' at netrider.net.au started by piper, Aug 9, 2006.

1. Hi folks,

I'm new to the bike scene and am looking around for my first 250. I've found a Zeal with around 7000 on the clock. The owner reakons it'll be up for some new tyres soon, does that sound right ? How long should the tyres last or is it possible the spedo's been wound back ?

Haven't seen the bike in the flesh yet.

Any opinions on the Zeal (owner says its not grey)
    Cheers,

Mark

2. 7000 seems realistic for a soft tyre and/or a bike ridden hard. Of course if they're the originals they're going to be at least 6 years old so could probably do with replacing on that basis alone.

3. Tyres are getting pretty ordinary after a year, worn or not. So if its a few years old then its definatly due for replacement.

For a soft 250 tyre 8000 is about their life, a harder tyre like BT-45 could see 15,000.

4. First of all, welcome to the forum, and to motorcycling. Both of them are pretty neat!

The two "Js" have it dead right; the wear is probably commensurate with the mileage, and if the tyres are old or even original, you should spend the money and ditch them anyway.

Can I suggest along with that that irrespective of what the seller says, that you budget for a full, professional service when you get it, and monitor mileage/tyres/expenses and condition from that day onward. You NEED to know these numbers, and track tyre wear especially.....

5. Cool, thanks for the info and the welcome to the forum. The km's seemed a bit low and I thought that the speedo may have been wound back. Feel a bit more comfortable about it now.