Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Tyre wear opinions?????

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by lil, May 21, 2007.

1. Having come home from Hotham this weekend and riding the VFR, seems my husband has a big complaint (apart from the fact I went away without him :LOL: ). He was expecting to put a new rear on his bike when I came home, but now needs a new front as well.

My question is this:

Is my riding style the cause of my problems with front tyre wear? I have noticed when I do some serious riding, I tend to wear the sides of my front tyres very aggressively.
  2. no no lil its normal, so i have been told, i'm too busy riding like a b!tch lately to know :LOL:
  3. Its like I'm a Rapid bikes salesman or something today..

Page 92 of Rapid Bikes, May.

That kind of confused me more than informed me so I'll have a go at decoding it now. I think what its saying is that when you are cornering, the weight and pressure and movement mean that the tyre is rotating in a way that doesn't have to slide (and thus wear) to assume the right position. However going on the highway (I guess with less forces and weight being shifted around), to change direction the tyre has to reshape itself, so the bottom part of where its reshaped is getting worn.

Nup, still confusing..
  4. ....and now you've just insulted me by suggesting I weigh more than Jay!!! Now you're in trouble :p :LOL:

Jay (lately) has been doing a lot more fun riding than I have, so why would I be doing this to tyres? I had a mix of straight, twisties and open sweepers :twisted: (I love GAR!!!)
  5. Hehe, no offense intended :p Just thought it was semi relevant :grin:

6. Lil cant lie straight in bed and cant sit straight on a bike.