Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Tyre/Tire Punctures. Again x 4!

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' at netrider.net.au started by AlbieQ, Jun 5, 2012.

1. Hi all, I've done a quick search and can't seem to find anyone whose had as much bad luck as me with tyre punctures.

Long story short, I've been riding for about 18 months now, and I've just got my 4th puncture (one every 4ish months?!). This is driving me insane on one hand, but on the other hand, I can't help but feel like there might be something I'm doing wrong on the road? I know to avoid riding behind a tradie's ute and not riding in the breakdown lanes either. I don't purposely ride through construction sites but there are some on my daily rides. I filter every now and then but I have no clue if that has any relevance at all? All the incidences have been in my rear wheel too so far. Just frustrated and slightly bemused at my bad luck (if it is just bad luck) seeing as its never happened for the car. Am I doing something wrong or have I just broken too many mirrors?

Also to save on another post - should I just plug the puncture myself? I've got a kit and all and I'm happy to give it a shot but I don't know if that'll affect the life of my tyre (seeing as its still relatively new). Or is it better just to go to my mechanic and get the internal plug?

Thanks for putting up with my rant!

-Albie

2. Good Lordy I think I love you! I've had two or three flat tyres on the car and a nail in the rear tyre (with only ~800km on it) on the previous bike. That heartbreaking feeling when you start to pull the nail out and hear the WSSSSHHHH leaking sound. And the scary ride to the shop after you screw the nail back in.