Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Turning engine off

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Danhendo888, May 1, 2014.

1. hey guys, noob here..

just wondering what the correct step is to turn your motorcycle off.

is it pushing the kill switch off or turning the key to off position?
  2. The only purpose of the kill switch is turning your riding buddies off when you're stopped for lunch and seeing how long it takes for them to work out why their bike won't start.
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Neither.... Just put the stand down :sour:
  4. in the pre-L's course, they said to use the kill switch
    but only so that the action becomes ingrained and that's the first thing you go for, rather than fumbling for key if it all goes wrong...

depends on your bike, but on mine it kills power to the coils, and leaves power to the lights...
    so I can kill motor and move bike around in dark garage using the kill switch.
    key turns everything off (and motor has to be on for lights to turn on)
  5. I did it to a mate while riding side by side and when he turned it back on, BANG! Awesome backfire. (Not recommended)

To the OP, use the key, don't get into the habit of using the kill-switch, because one day you may come back to a flat battery. My bike, and probably many others these days, automatically switch off the headlight after a short time if the engine is killed by using the kill-switch to prevent a flat battery. Kill-switch is for emergency use.