Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Turn 2 @ PI?

Discussion in 'Racing, Motorsports, and Track Days' started by N1GH7-R1D3R, Feb 9, 2006.

1. Hey guys,

Hey i'm only a newb so please don't flame me for this. I just watched a hotlap of PI and was wondering if turn 2 is what you would refer to as a proper double apex corner?? I loved watching them come belting round that left hander at the GP but never really thought about it. After watching the hot lap though for his technique i noticed he apexed it early, ran wider, then clipped the inside again whilst leaving the turn! Is that exactly what a double apex corner is?

2. You could call turn 2 a double apex corner...
    I'd normally call it a pain in the butt though :)
  3. The Superbike School certainly refer to it as double apex - there are 2 turn-in points.
  4. Cool thanks guys! That's what i thought it was but i haven't been riding all that long so i thought i'd just clarify the terminology with the reality. Making sure i was talking about the right thing and what to look for. Cheers!
  5. Do a ride day my man, do a ride day, it's great fun, then you could tell many what turn two is.
  6. It depends. I did the Superbike School and they treat it as a double apex.

You can quite happily treat it as a single apex though, and technically this is what it really is.

I personally treat it as a single apex but you do come in somewhat close to the inside of the corner early on, not really apexing it, then as you hold your line you sort of drift out and then come back into the apex proper.

All depends on how late you enter it, and whether or not you hang wide for while (like I try to do) and then come in and apex, or whether or not you apex it early, come out, then turn back in and apex it again.