Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Troubles with take off - 2 stroke

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by wrxbox, Dec 13, 2006.

1. Now I’m only new to bikes so I don’t know if this is normal or not.
    I have a 2001 Cagiva Mito 125 (and a 1993 Mito unregistered and 4sale)
    When I try to take off fast at the lights the bike sort of bogs down, it goes then sort of hesitates and chugs, it’s not until I get right up in the reves that it finally takes off. Am I giving it to much throttle to soon or something?
    I took my other bike (1993 model) out for a run for the first time last night the engine sounds real beafy compared to my 2001 model, it must be the carbon exhaust giving it that nice note, when you hit power-band it really packs a punch, I wish my other bike went like this. I think I need to do some work to get my bike up to scratch. Does an after market muffler make much difference to power? Or just sound nice?
    I really noticed the difference on the early model bike without the steering dampener, although the 93 model bike goes harder the 2001 model is a nicer bike to ride.

2. Mat, you really need to go to a cagiva forum for the best advise, but I'm guessing this thing may have a restrictor or something.

It may be geared different.

It may be knackered.

It may be oiling incorrectly

The carby may be set up completly wrong.
  3. Don't 2 strokes need a fist full of revs anyway?
  4. Mitos are restricted by the stock exhaust.

Your 93 would be putting out about 30 odd hp whereas your 2001 which is probably still restricted is putting out about 15hp.