Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Triumph Thruxton

Discussion in 'Naked' started by Steve Vtec, Aug 27, 2015.

1. So I'm very new to riding - not quite 2 years experience. I'm 29 so bypass a lot of the licensing restrictions in NSW and next week I'll upgrade to an open licence. Ive done over 10000kms and am riding nearly every day, and I was planning to flog the cb400 into the ground before changing bikes, but I have come across a 2013 thruxton in immaculate condition and at a very competitive price, and was wondering if there's anything I should know about thruxtons before I throw my money at the seller... The biggest problem I could foresee is that I'm not really cool enough to own a bike like that, and then there's the rego, green slip and insurance price jump. Apart from that, the red bloke sitting on my shoulder is screaming at me to empty the savings account

2. Not cool enough? what're you talking about!

Will you sell your current bike for a bit of cash to buy it? Finances are always tricky :/
  3. I've got the cash, it is supposed to be for a house though. But I've itchy feet and I like the look of that thruxton so much, it's jut the most beautiful machine. Might set the savings for the house back a little but if it makes me smile every day it's probably worth it, right? Right? Haha... The only thing I'm worried about is not being the most confident rider and having the loveliest bike I've ever seen, I feel like I'd be too afraid to ride it around. Obviously this fear wouldn't last long, but still, a small part of me is yelling keep cutting your teeth on the 400 and upgrade when you've more experience. A deal like this doesn't come around all that often though........