Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Trade in or Fix up

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by donneie, Dec 9, 2011.

1. Im a newb poster but have been using you guys as an info database for ages now. Anyway heres the issue i have had a motorbike for 8 months now (VTR 250 2002) its being great, good pick up, fine bike overall i was happy, really happy it had 64,000 when i bought it.($3200) i got it serviced as it was noisey (valve clearances) also got a heap of other stuff done $800 overall and was told the timing chains needed changing soon (Pricey $1300 max quote, including guidance things), this is inline with other quotes i got. the fork seals are gone $150 i reckon and then today the chain came off the old motorbike heads in work reckon i need a new chain and possibly front sprocket. (i dont know $250) and to top it all rego is gone in Feb.

To fix the bike will mean i have pumped $2400 (plus rego) into the bike since i got it. I was told timing chains would need to be done 3500 kms ago so its time to decide. Either I fix the bike or swop to another LAMS bike, i dont want another LAMS bike but i dont have a choice i have to trade in the VTR. If im swopping i want more power so its the cb400 i reckon, i hate the look of the gs500 and will test ride the sv650s at the weekend to try all options but the cb400 is the front runner right now.